why I love nurses (a busy day for me–part 2)

12 Nov

My wife drove me to the big hospital.  I had never been to this ER, so I didn’t know what to expect.

There was a concierge.  He noticed my dangling IV tubes, asked where I was coming from, and scanned my hospital bracelet.  He directed me to the nurses who would check me in.  I expected him to ask about getting my bags to the room.

The two check-in nurses seemed like they were nearing the end of their shift.  They seemed relaxed and jovial as they lounged–really no other word for it–behind the counter.  The first nurse (that was fun to type) took my information down and looked at my enormous finger and thumb, made that way by the several miles of gauze the other ER folks had wrapped around them.  Here is the conversation I had with the nurses:

1st RN: What happened?

Me: I cut my fingers on the table saw.

2nd RN: Why did you do that?

Me: I hadn’t done it before, so I thought I’d give it a try.

1st RN: Cut anything off?

Me: No

1st RN: Why not?

2nd RN: He said it was his first try.

1st RN: Oh. Well, better luck next time.

Leave a Reply

